Back to Basics

I don’t actually know how to begin this blog post so I opted to start off with this sad truth of a sentence. I read that you should never begin a post by stating your inability to do or to have done something so I guess I went against the laws of blogging.I kid! there are no actual laws, you weren’t really disappointed by that opening statement – it’s all in your mind. My poor ability to capture the reader must be from the lack of objective in writing this post. Sometimes our ideas don’t relay that well onto paper, or shall I say ‘word document’ as I wanted this to be an outfit post but in all honesty, it was the location where we shot the outfit that I felt deserved the attention. When my friend had asked me where I wanted to shoot this post, I couldn’t think of a better space than the Dongdaemun Design Plaza, which if you’ve not heard, is an ultra modern structure, supposedly a design hub but really just looks like a giant insect from the future that landed on earth in the wrong location. It is in itself another world.

img_20161012_155803

Stepping into DDP is like entering a vacuum where you are neither here nor there, walking into a maze of never ending white walls that every passage, room and stairway could either be a mad house or the perfect photo-op. The ongoing circle of lightness and its dizzying effect could easily make you feel trapped yet you’ll still probably take some selfies at the same time. The mind really does wonder when you’re in there. But the DDP has not been freed from Seoul’s gentrification struggle with its overtly dominant presence in the Dongdaemun area. It’s hard to praise these experiential spaces when you are unaware of the consequences of its presence. It reminds me of empty stadiums that sit waiting for great events in order to be of service to the people that help build them. Though the plaza is always a busy area, this incredibly large space still has the feeling of being vacant. But maybe that’s just the power of the architect, that the structure instills in you a feeling of being in another realm and transports you to another world.

The following photos are a representation of my initial idea, a back-to-basics outfit spruced up with a bit of autumnal colours to fit the season. Hope you enjoy it!

dsc04237

dsc04225

dsc04230

dsc04499

dsc04478

dsc04482

dsc04396

dsc04439

dsc04451

dsc04226

dsc04401

dsc04208

Outfit Details : Sweater – Pull&Bear, Black Skinny – Topshop Joni Jeans, Sneakers – Converse, Scarf – H&M, Jacket – Dongdaemun Market (keeping with the theme)

Photos were taken by Jeff Simone.

Leave a Reply

