Prepare your Skin for Winter

The icy winter months can wreak havoc on our skin, leaving it looking dull, tired and lacklustre. Let’s not forget about those flaky patches which seem to form coconut clusters around the face. Changing your skincare routine with the season can help alleviate these concerns. Here are a few simple changes you can make to your skincare wardrobe this winter.

Super HA Moist Essence EX by Hado Labo and Hydraluron by Indeed Labs

Hyaluronic Acid Serums
While cold winter air extracts moisture from your skin, hyaluronic acid locks moisture deep within the skin leaving it feeling soft and supple. Apply your serum before you moisturise your skin. This way, any moisturiser applied topically will be absorbed by the acid to keep your skin hydrated for longer. These serums are perfect for those of us who can’t drink enough water (and by can’t I mean don’t) in cold weather conditions as the acid will help the skin appear plump and healthy. Here are two of my favourite serums to help me cheat hydrated skin.

Exfoliate!
A simple way of getting rid of those flaky patches is by using a face cloth. Flannels are a great way to exfoliate the surface layer. Run your flannel under warm water and press the warm damp cloth onto your face to revive your skin and wipe away any dry, flaky bits. I love the feeling of a steamed flannel on my face to wake me up in the morning.DSCF2642

As for a product recommendation, the Honey & Oat 3-IN-1 Scrub Mask from The Body Shop is an all-round goodie. I love the core ingredients in this mask. Oatmeal can be used on its own too, to exfoliate sensitive skin. Because I don’t feel like buying a bag of oats and rolling it on my face, I buy this mask instead. It won’t irritate sensitive areas and it doesn’t strip the skin either. It leaves the skin with a comfortable feeling after use.

DSCF2640

Oils!
I personally use oils all year round but what a great time to explore essential oils. The Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate is a classic. I use a few drops to press into my skin at night and my skin will be glowing in the a.m. This product works well alone or in a team… jokes! But you could use this product on its own or before you moisturise for optimum hydration throughout the night. I use it before the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream and send a prayer out to the folks at Kiehl’s in the morning. It’s an amazing duo!

DSCF2628

Lip Balm!
Gone are the days of Vaseline and toothbrush exfoliation! This product is life changing! OK, maybe not to most people but to a dry lip sister like moi, the Nuxe Reve De Miel lip balm has become a staple in my skincare collection for the past three years. It’s honestly the best thing I’ve tried to relieve dry, sore, patchy lips overnight. It’s a must have this winter!

2 thoughts on “Prepare your Skin for Winter

  1. Thanks so much! I will definitely be checking out your blog and stalk you on various social media platforms lol I think supporting each other is a grand idea! Much love ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

